Il était une fois…

…there was a girl who loved museums. And books.

My name is Stephanie and I am a Museum Studies student at GWU. I’ve been obsessed with museums, and books, since I was a little girl. I’ve learned over the past few years that these two topics are inextricably linked.

In 2008, as a sophomore in high school, I created a program called Books Are Food for Thought. When volunteering at a soup kitchen in my hometown, I realized that not everyone had the same access to books. Books Are Food for Thought aimed to change that through collecting new and gently used books and distributing them to local kids who received free meals through their schools and after school programs. The program has been able to distribute 25,000 books since its conception.

In college, I knew as soon as I took my first art history class that I wanted to work in a museum, and I’ve been working towards that goal ever since. I was also interested in how my passion for museums could be connected to my passion for literature and children’s books. This manifested itself in two ways. Firstly, my senior thesis analyzed a collection of fairy tale illustrations by French artist Gustave Doré. Secondly, I took on an internship position at the Eric Carle Museum of Picture Book Art. The museum’s mission was a perfect fit: is to inspire a love of art and reading through picture books.

These topics continue to be of interest to me as I continue my museums career in DC. I am constantly finding connections in museum literature, news articles, and on social media: Whether it’s George Lucas’s new museum of narrative art, a traveling exhibition on Golden Books, or storytelling in museums through virtual reality.

Overall, the purpose of this blog is to:

  1. Continue to explore the intersections between books and museums.
  2. Discover how digital technology in museums effects these intersections for the class MSTD 6403: Museums and Digital Technology.

I might stray from these topics in certain blog entries for class, but overall I hope to focus on these themes! Thanks for reading~

Leave a Reply

